fbpx

Sleep practitioner programme

Babies, children and young people, OCN Level 5

Format and duration:

The course comprises of a taught element and a number of assignments. The taught element consists of a set of weekly live sessions, covering 13 weeks. As well as prepared sessions, these include recaps and Q&A sessions, which are there for students to raise questions in a group setting.

In addition, students have full access to the eLearning content that supports the course.

Alongside these, students need to complete a set of assignments, which are assessed, in order to complete the qualification.

The course is accredited by the OCN.

More and more parents are turning to Sleep Practitioners to help guide them when having sleep difficulties with their children. This programme equips you with all the techniques & knowledge to help support parents with their baby or child’s sleeping. You will learn how to approach parents in a professional and considerate way and how to effectively communicate the best methods available to them based on their individual needs.

For more information about the role of a Sleep Practitioner and earning potential, please view our Sleep Practitioner Job Description.

The programme is run over 10 week period, consisting of weekly sessions that either cover new content, or allow for tutorial sessions to go over past content and resolve any issues or questions. Alongside this, students have full access to the eLearning course. Both options are available, and we encourage students to make use of both of these, but it is the student’s choice as to what they want to follow.

As part of this programme students will also gain exclusive access to our private Facebook group where students can join discussions with other students and our trainers.

Download the Sleep Practitioner Programme brochure

    Assessment

    During the programme you will receive assignment questions and will have 6 weeks beyond the end of the taught course to complete them.

    Your assignments will be assessed by one of the trainers, who will contact you about your results. If you successfully pass your assignments, we will request a certificate to be issued by the OCN awarding body; this process should take no more than two weeks.

    Extensions: In a situation where the student is unable to complete their assignments within the given period, the student can apply for an extension, detailing the reason for the extension.

    Fees

    The full cost of the programme, if paid up front is £945

    You can also spread the cost over a number of monthly instalments:

    • Initial registration fee – £45
    • 4 x monthly instalment – £235
    • Total cost via instalments – £985

    Pre-requisites

    This programme draws on prior understanding and experience of baby and child sleep so learners should have significant experience of working with both babies and children.

    Certification

    The programme is accredited by OCN (Credit4Learning)

    Course Content

    The programme covers the physiology and psychology of sleep, the importance of sleep in babies and children and the relationship between diet/nutrition, exercise, routine and sleep at all stages from new-born to 12 years old. It also examines sleep theories and the science of sleep including REM/non-REM sleep and the role of melatonin.

    OVERVIEW
    • Role of the Sleep Practitioner
      • Tools and skills
      • Comparison to other roles
    • Sleep Physiology
      • What is sleep and why we need it
      • Circadian rhythms
      • Stages of sleep and sleep cycles
    • What is healthy Sleep
      • Healthy sleep associations
      • Sleep cues
      • Causes and effects of lack of sleep
    • How to support healthy sleep
      • Lifestyle factors
      • Slings, swaddling and baby massage
      • Noise
      • Props and other objects
    • Conditions affecting sleep
      • Acute illness
      • Physical and mental disorders
      • Environmental factors
    • Techniques
    • Sleep Plans
    • Special cases
      • Autism, ADHD, multiples

    Rs-service

    JULIE HEGINBOTTOM (ASSESSOR & DEVELOPER)

    Julie Heginbottom has 23 years’ experience in childcare including as a nanny, maternity nurse and sleep consultant. She holds an NNEB, a degree in Early Years and is a qualified nutritional therapist, childcare tutor and assessor.

    Julie has worked extensively with many different families through her own
    consultancy and aims to empower parents, finding solutions that fit
    their lifestyle and philosophy rather than advocating a one-size-fits-all
    approach.

    As a trainer Julie applies these same principles, prioritising up-to-date, essential information but allowing each student to find their own niche. Julie has collaborated with London School of Childcare Studies on a wide range of courses, bringing us her considerable experience and perspective as a nanny and maternity nurse.

    Training Location

    The weekly sessions are typically held in our virtual classroom, hosted on Zoom.

    Full details are shown for each course intake.

    Upcoming dates for 2021

    January 2021 intake

    Saturday 9th Jan-2021, 10am
    Saturday 16th Jan-2021, 10am
    Saturday 23rd Jan-2021, 10am
    Saturday 30th Jan-2021, 10am
    Saturday 6th Feb-2021, 10am
    Saturday 13th Feb-2021, 10am
    Saturday 20th Feb-2021, 10am
    Saturday 27th Feb-2021, 10am
    Saturday 6th Mar-2021, 10am
    Saturday 13th Mar-2021, 10am
    Saturday 20th Mar-2021, 10am
    Saturday 27th Mar-2021, 10am

    April 2021 intake

    Monday 12th Apr-2021, 7pm
    Monday 19th Apr-2021, 7pm
    Monday 26th Apr-2021, 7pm
    Monday 3rd May-2021, 7pm
    Monday 10th May-2021, 7pm
    Monday 17th May-2021, 7pm
    Monday 24th May-2021, 7pm
    Monday 31th May-2021, 7pm
    Monday 7th Jun-2021, 7pm
    Monday 14th Jun-2021, 7pm
    Monday 21st Jun-2021, 7pm
    Monday 28th Jun-2021, 7pm

    July 2021 intake

    Saturday 10th Jul-2021, 10am
    Saturday 17th Jul-2021, 10am
    Saturday 24th Jul-2021, 10am
    Saturday 31th Jul-2021, 10am
    Saturday 7th Aug-2021, 10am
    Saturday 14th Aug-2021, 10am
    Saturday 21st Aug-2021, 10am
    Saturday 28th Aug-2021, 10am
    Saturday 6th Sep-2021, 10am
    Saturday 13th Sep-2021, 10am
    Saturday 20th Sep-2021, 10am
    Saturday 27th Sep-2021, 10am

    October 2021 intake

    Monday 4th Oct-2021, 7pm
    Monday 11th Oct-2021, 7pm
    Monday 18th Oct-2021, 7pm
    Monday 25th Oct-2021, 7pm
    Monday 1st Nov-2021, 7pm
    Monday 8th Nov-2021, 7pm
    Monday 15th Nov-2021, 7pm
    Monday 22nd Nov-2021, 7pm
    Monday 29th Nov-2021, 7pm
    Monday 6th Dec-2021, 7pm
    Monday 13th Dec-2021, 7pm
    Monday 20th Dec-2021, 7pm

    Search:

    EventVenueDate
    Sleep Practitioner Programme | January 2021 intakeVirtual classroom
    • January 9, 2021 10:00 am
    Register
    Sleep Practitioner Programme | April 2021 intakeVirtual classroom
    • April 15, 2021 7:00 pm
    Register
    Sleep Practitioner Programme | July 2021 intakeVirtual classroom
    • July 10, 2021 10:00 am
    Register
    Sleep Practitioner Programme | October 2021 intakeVirtual classroom
    • October 7, 2021 7:00 pm
    Register

    OUR ACHEIVEMENTS

    We have proudly helped thousands of students enhance their careers

    12

    Expert Teachers

    15

    COURSES

    3000

    STUDENTS

    400

    PLACEMENTS FOUND

    Video Testimonials

    TESTIMONIALS

    Success stories from hundreds of participants

    Here are what our students have said about their experiences on our courses

    • "After taking the Common Core Skills course I also decided to take a maternity course after my very positive experience with HATA. All the trainers were so professional and had lots of experience in their fields. It really gave me a newfound confidence in my skills, especially after my boss went on to have a second baby."

      Client Image
      • Piroska
    • I have completed all my training through HATA (apart from my Hypnobirthing Practitioner) Sleep Training, Healthy Eating, First Aid, Maternity Nurse Training and the OFSTED Course. I have made a lot of friends through HATA a lot of which I speak to on a daily basis. I will continue to promote HATA to all my friends and those in this profession. I can honestly say that every course I have done with HATA has affected my profession in a good way. I have also made so many life long friends.

      Client Image
      • Alexandra
    • Hata change my life,i meet new friends,the trainer was a lovely women Julie,she maked me have confidence in me,i meet new friends and i introduced old friends,this course is amazing i applied lot of things i learned in my practice and i can see the difference,I feel more secure i feel that i know perfect what i am doing.So if you love babies,if you Want to earn good money or just feel more confident taking care of your new baby definitely just HATA i guarantee you wont regret !:)

      Client Image
      • Ami

    Check out our online courses and start learning today

    Learn more