fbpx

Sleep practitioner programme

Babies, children and young people, OCN Level 5

Format and duration:

The course comprises of a taught element and a number of assignments. The taught element consists of a set of weekly live sessions, covering 13 weeks. As well as prepared sessions, these include recaps and Q&A sessions, which are there for students to raise questions in a group setting.

In addition, students have full access to the eLearning content that supports the course.

Alongside these, students need to complete a set of assignments, which are assessed, in order to complete the qualification.

The course is accredited by the OCN.

Download the Sleep Practitioner Programme prospectus

More and more parents are turning to Sleep Practitioners to help guide them when having sleep difficulties with their children. This programme equips you with all the techniques & knowledge to help support parents with their baby or child’s sleeping. You will learn how to approach parents in a professional and considerate way and how to effectively communicate the best methods available to them based on their individual needs.

For more information about the role of a Sleep Practitioner and earning potential, please view our Sleep Practitioner Job Description.

The programme is run over 10 week period, consisting of weekly sessions that either cover new content, or allow for tutorial sessions to go over past content and resolve any issues or questions. Alongside this, students have full access to the eLearning course. Both options are available, and we encourage students to make use of both of these, but it is the student’s choice as to what they want to follow.

As part of this programme students will also gain exclusive access to our private Facebook group where students can join discussions with other students and our trainers.

Assessment

During the programme you will receive assignment questions and will have 6 weeks beyond the end of the taught course to complete them.

Your assignments will be assessed by one of the trainers, who will contact you about your results. If you successfully pass your assignments, we will request a certificate to be issued by the OCN awarding body; this process should take no more than two weeks.

Extensions: In a situation where the student is unable to complete their assignments within the given period, the student can apply for an extension, detailing the reason for the extension.

Fees

Entry onto the programme can be bought either as a one time up front payment of £1295, or through instalments.

Paying by instalments requires a registration fee of £95, followed by 4 monthly payments of £330 (total £1415).

Pre-requisites

This programme draws on prior understanding and experience of baby and child sleep so learners should have significant experience of working with both babies and children.

Certification

The programme is accredited by OCN (Credit4Learning)

Course Content

The programme covers the physiology and psychology of sleep, the importance of sleep in babies and children and the relationship between diet/nutrition, exercise, routine and sleep at all stages from new-born to 12 years old. It also examines sleep theories and the science of sleep including REM/non-REM sleep and the role of melatonin.

OVERVIEW
  • Role of the Sleep Practitioner
    • Tools and skills
    • Comparison to other roles
  • Sleep Physiology
    • What is sleep and why we need it
    • Circadian rhythms
    • Stages of sleep and sleep cycles
  • What is healthy Sleep
    • Healthy sleep associations
    • Sleep cues
    • Causes and effects of lack of sleep
  • How to support healthy sleep
    • Lifestyle factors
    • Slings, swaddling and baby massage
    • Noise
    • Props and other objects
  • Conditions affecting sleep
    • Acute illness
    • Physical and mental disorders
    • Environmental factors
  • Techniques
  • Sleep Plans
  • Special cases
    • Autism, ADHD, multiples

Rs-service

JULIE HEGINBOTTOM (ASSESSOR & DEVELOPER)

Julie Heginbottom has 23 years’ experience in childcare including as a nanny, maternity nurse and sleep consultant. She holds an NNEB, a degree in Early Years and is a qualified nutritional therapist, childcare tutor and assessor.

Julie has worked extensively with many different families through her own
consultancy and aims to empower parents, finding solutions that fit
their lifestyle and philosophy rather than advocating a one-size-fits-all
approach.

As a trainer Julie applies these same principles, prioritising up-to-date, essential information but allowing each student to find their own niche. Julie has collaborated with London School of Childcare Studies on a wide range of courses, bringing us her considerable experience and perspective as a nanny and maternity nurse.

Training Location

The weekly sessions are typically held in our virtual classroom, hosted on Zoom.

Full details are shown for each course intake.

Upcoming dates for 2021

January 2021 intake

Saturday 9th Jan-2021, 10am
Saturday 16th Jan-2021, 10am
Saturday 23rd Jan-2021, 10am
Saturday 30th Jan-2021, 10am
Saturday 6th Feb-2021, 10am
Saturday 13th Feb-2021, 10am
Saturday 20th Feb – NO SESSION
Saturday 27th Feb-2021, 10am
Saturday 6th Mar-2021, 10am
Saturday 13th Mar-2021, 10am
Saturday 20th Mar-2021, 10am

April 2021 intake

Thursday 15th Apr-2021, 7pm
Thursday 22nd Apr-2021, 7pm
Thursday 29th Apr-2021, 7pm
Thursday 6th May-2021, 7pm
Thursday 13th May-2021, 7pm
Thursday 20th May-2021, 7pm
Thursday 27th May-2021, 7pm
Thursday 3rd Jun-2021, 7pm
Thursday 10th Jun-2021, 7pm
Thursday 17th Jun-2021, 7pm

May 2021 intake

Saturday 22nd May-2021, 10am
Saturday 29th May-2021, 10am
Saturday 5th Jun -2021, 10am
Saturday 12th Jun -2021, 10am
Saturday 19th Jun -2021, 10am
Saturday 26th Jun NO SESSION
Saturday 3rd Jul-2021, 10am
Saturday 10th Jul-2021, 10am
Saturday 17th Jul-2021, 10am
Saturday 24th Jul-2021, 10am
Saturday 31st Jul-2021, 10am

July 2021 intake

Thursday 8th Jul-2021, 7pm
Thursday 15th Jul-2021, 7pm
Thursday 22nd Jul-2021, 7pm
Thursday 29th Jul-2021, 7pm
Thursday 5th Aug-2021, 7pm
Thursday 12th Aug-2021, 7pm
Thursday 19th Aug-2021, 7pm
Thursday 26th Aug-2021, 7pm
Thursday 2nd Sep-2021, 7pm
Thursday 9th Sep-2021, 7pm

September 2021 intake

Saturday 4th Sept -2021, 10am
Saturday 11th Sept -2021, 10am
Saturday 18th Sept -2021, 10am
Saturday 25th Sept – NO SESSION
Saturday 2nd Oct-2021, 10am
Saturday 9th Oct-2021, 10am
Saturday 16th Oct-2021, 10am
Saturday 23rd Oct-2021, 10am
Saturday 30th Oct-2021, 10am
Saturday 6th Nov-2021, 10am
Saturday 13th Nov-2021, 10am

October 2021 intake

Thursday 7th Oct-2021, 7pm
Thursday 14th Oct-2021, 7pm
Thursday 21st Oct-2021, 7pm
Thursday 28th Oct-2021, 7pm
Thursday 4th Nov-2021, 7pm
Thursday 11th Nov-2021, 7pm
Thursday 18th Nov-2021, 7pm
Thursday 25th Nov-2021, 7pm
Thursday 2nd Dec-2021, 7pm
Thursday 9th Dec-2021, 7pm

Event Venue Date
Sleep Practitioner Programme | July 2021 intake Virtual classroom
  • August 5, 2021 7:00 pm
Sold Out
Sleep Practitioner Programme | September 2021 intake Virtual classroom
  • September 4, 2021 10:00 am
Register
Sleep Practitioner Programme | October 2021 intake Virtual classroom
  • October 7, 2021 7:00 pm
Register

OUR ACHEIVEMENTS

We have proudly helped thousands of students enhance their careers

12

Expert Teachers

15

COURSES

3000

STUDENTS

400

PLACEMENTS FOUND

Video Testimonials

TESTIMONIALS

Success stories from hundreds of participants

Here are what our students have said about their experiences on our courses

  • “After taking the Common Core Skills course I also decided to take a maternity course after my very positive experience with HATA. All the trainers were so professional and had lots of experience in their fields. It really gave me a newfound confidence in my skills, especially after my boss went on to have a second baby.”

    Client Image
    • Piroska
  • I have completed all my training through HATA (apart from my Hypnobirthing Practitioner) Sleep Training, Healthy Eating, First Aid, Maternity Nurse Training and the OFSTED Course. I have made a lot of friends through HATA a lot of which I speak to on a daily basis. I will continue to promote HATA to all my friends and those in this profession. I can honestly say that every course I have done with HATA has affected my profession in a good way. I have also made so many life long friends.

    Client Image
    • Alexandra
  • Hata change my life,i meet new friends,the trainer was a lovely women Julie,she maked me have confidence in me,i meet new friends and i introduced old friends,this course is amazing i applied lot of things i learned in my practice and i can see the difference,I feel more secure i feel that i know perfect what i am doing.So if you love babies,if you Want to earn good money or just feel more confident taking care of your new baby definitely just HATA i guarantee you wont regret !:)

    Client Image
    • Ami

Check out our online courses and start learning today

Learn more